top of page

Welcome to NONE PLUS 5!

When I was expecting my son, I got a lot of advice and heard many stories about parenting. Some of the advice I used and some I crafted into my own personal approach while others got tossed aside. I was told about the various products I must have when baby arrives and the things that were useless. Some of these products came in handy but others I literally never touched.

Compassion, Parenting, Love, Mother and Son, None Plus 5

Who has ever heard an “older” person state, “we didn’t have those things when you were growing up?” I know I have. I’ve even said it a few times at this point in my life which is a level of depressing I can’t go to right now.

As I have become a parent I have reflected on all the advice I have received. I have thought about all the things I didn’t know about parenting. All the things I didn’t have as a kid, and all the things I thought I needed for mine. All this thinking has led to what I hope everyone can have and what I strive to have every day for my son:

Compassion

Empathy

Patience

Love

These are the things a growing person needs. These are the components to parenting not everyone will talk about or even think about. These are the essentials to life that even if you don’t have a dollar to your name you can provide for your child. Compassion, empathy, patience and love are life altering gifts.

Parenting is not a walk in the park. In the moment, it can be almost impossible to remember how little our children are, how simple their minds can be and how innocent their actions are. Parents make mistakes, we will yell and say things we shouldn’t and that’s OK, it’s life. Its good for kids to see what imperfection is. What is even more important is for kids to see that you love them, you will listen to them, try to understand them and do whatever you can to help them grow in a happy and healthy environment.

Its taken me awhile to realize that perfect parenting doesn’t exist. However, parenting from the heart and arming yourself with knowledge can come just about as close to perfection as possible.

Compassion, Parenting, Love, Mother and Son, None Plus 5

Welcome to None Plus Five, where I will discuss my parenting journey and perspectives on life from the way I was raised to how I will raise my children (currently child).

My name is Kirby, I am 30 years old as of Wednesday and am mother to my first and only child . . . for now! I have spent the first two years of my son’s life supporting my husband while he finished school in the medical field, raising my son and participating as much as possible in my local moms club in order to obtain support and have things to do with my little guy.

Compassion, Parenting, Love, Mother and Son, None Plus 5

Luke is an almost two-year-old; who is unbelievably active, strong willed and full of character. Watching him grow and spending time with him has been some of the most wonderful moments I’ve had in my life. Sometimes he watches more T.V. than he should and eats waaay more fruits than veggies. We are always finding something to do whether it's swimming, going to the park, having play-dates, or going to the zoo.

I have mommy struggles, I have wife struggles and just plain being a person struggles. I'm human . . . no joke.

I have created None Plus 5 as a space in social media for parents to have their feelings, emotions and struggles validated. I want to encourage parents and help make them feel supported.

I want to welcome others to share their stories (yes I want you to contribute!), give advice, ask for advice and simply be parents together. My way is mine and mine alone. No one can tell you how to parent because your way is already in you. I hope my blog can inspire and encourage you in this journey that is parenting!

Thank you so much for for reading!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page