top of page

"Healthier" Mini Muffins (Quick Tip #2)

As stated numerous times I am not a domestic diva, I am not a professional baker or cook and I am also not a photographer! Ok, so now that we have that cleared up, here is how I make myself feel better about the muffins I make my son and the lack of veggies he eats.

Now you’re not getting a “from scratch” recipe so just in case you thought that was happening I sincerely and with every fiber of my apron that I am not wearing apologize. However, I do hope this next part pleases you more than that. I use Krusteaze muffin mix from the store. It requires oil, eggs and water and comes with a can of fruit that you fold into the batter at the end. With the mix, I used today it was cranberries and orange peels! This muffin mix is my sons absolute favorite. I make the mix as per directions, dump the fruit it comes with then . . . get ready for this twist, I grate some zucchini on top of the fruit, mix (fold) it all in gently and scoop it into the muffin tin!

I know, nothing crazy new or totally inventive but hey! It’s what I do for my little man and I hope it gave you some inspiration for easy grab and go muffins for your kiddos with a little extra somethin’ somethin’ for good measure. You could of course beef these babies up even more with say nutritional flakes or something like that but my little guy is really a great eater just not huge into veggies at the moment and my theory is; why not?!?

As the title states, these were mini muffins which are great for my kiddo who is almost two. It cuts back on a crumby mess and doesn’t get wasted if he’s not that hungry. However my kid, is always THAT hungry. These muffins last two days maybe three if I police them properly. As you can see below he loves when mom makes muffins!

Enjoy! Thanks for reading!

Yummm! You've got something on your face . . .

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page