top of page

Be Good to Each Other


pay it forward, Candy, Kindness, None Plus 5

The other day my son and I were in the check-outline at the grocery store. Usually by the time we get to check-out after a shopping trip my son has had it and is less than pleasant. Luckily today was a short trip and he was taking it like a champ!

A woman got in line behind us and was eating Reeses Pieces candy from a box. I’m not going to lie, I immediately thought to myself well here it goes this kid is gonna lose it. I knew he was going to want it and just hoped and prayed he would be distracted. Luckily, he was very mellow and played peek-a-boo with her but didn't take his eyes off "The Box."

I turned my back to load groceries onto the conveyor belt, when I turned back around she had a new box of candy with a dollar and was extending both out to me. When I looked at her in question she said: “I was eating mine in front of him and that’s not fair, I could tell he wanted some. I would like to buy these for him.”

I thanked her very much and told her she did not have to do that. Of course, Luke was losing it at this point now that I possessed "The Box." So, I opened it and handed him one. I told him “You can have some but mommy holds the box.” He really wanted the box but we all know how that was going to end!

The woman looked at me and said, “You know my daughter won’t let my grand-kids eat candy.”

I explained that he has a very healthy and balanced diet and that a little bit from time to time doesn’t hurt (this is my “philosophy” sorry, not sorry). I was glad I didn't tell him he had to wait to eat them because it clearly made her happy. I had Luke blow her a kiss and then we went on with our day.

Notice all the kind and friendly transactions that were going on; the woman kind to us and we were kind in return. I could have turned her down. I could have said that we would be having dinner soon and he can’t eat the candy now. But in my perspective, that would be perceived as unfriendly. When someone offers you something you should usually oblige, it is kind and it makes them feel good. I have had trouble with this in my life because I feel strange taking things from others. The reverse is offering something and being turned down, it doesn't make you feel good. If they didn't want you to take it they wouldn't be offering.

These are the things I wish happened more often among strangers. If we are kind, people will be kind back (most of the time anyway). "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page