top of page

"Big Stone Gap" Book Recomendation


This book is a true escape to an entirely unique way of life at least for myself seeing as I grew up on the California Coast. We are transported to the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia and follow the subject; a single 35-year-old woman with so much more in front of her than she can imagine. As I read this story I wondered how it could be possible I had not ever had this character in my life until now. She is strong, independent, smart, conflicted, hopeless, hilarious and intriguing. As the book unfolds we discover the secrets of Ave Marie Mulligans family right along with her.

I love when books take me to a place I haven’t been, to a lifestyle I haven’t lived. I love to meet characters with so much color and personality I wish they existed in my life. This book did not fail in any of these expectations. The life of a pharmacist who delivers prescriptions throughout the mountains climbing steep and curving roads and taking care of people in her own unique way. A library on wheels with the most unexpected librarian behind the wheel. And so many other funny and conflicted characters which comprise the community of Big Stone Gap. Not only was I transported to Virginia and learned about the culture but I also learned things about the Italian culture I never knew, and didn’t realize I would learn from a book titled “Big Stone Gap.” This book certainly did not disappoint and may even be getting an encore one of these days!

As with all books I’m usually a bit sad it’s over and feel a like I’ve lost something which is why I was so lucky that this book is a series. Even more Ave Marie! Once I was done with the series I was absolutely enchanted with the author Adriana Trigiani and I have now read/listened to Every. Single. Book she has written. Any knowledge of the Italian culture I have has come from her beautiful stories.

I highly suggest listening to the audio version, it is narrated by the author (my favorite in an audio version) and it is wonderfully entertaining.I hope you get the chance to read/listen to this book and well as discover the many wonderful works of Adriana Trigiani.

As always thank you for reading, if you have already read the book or if you get the chance please tell me what you think! I love hearing from my readers and even more so from readers of my favorite books!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page