top of page

$5 DIY Monster Shoes


None Plus 5, Monster Shoe, DIY, Craft, $5 craft, Back to school, shoes, toddlers, kids, babies

This idea came to me a few weeks ago when we got the Carter's Back to School catalog. My son was fixated on a pair of shoes with a monster face. I thought they were adorable and then checked the price on them.

$30 for a pair of shoes. For my almost two-year-old . . .boy. My 100% boy who destroys, loses and grows out of everything faster than I anticipated!

I realize I could use a coupon or whatever. But I am a crafty person who feeds off DIY success.

Walmart for over a year now has carried a generic slip on shoe (Vans style) in beige or black for $5.00! This is fantastic to me for so many reasons: he can destroy them, they go with a lot of outfits, we can accidentally loose them, or I can potentially destroy them during a DIY project (spoiler alert; this did not happen).

Need:

*Shoes of choice

*Felt (preferable the stiffer type as opposed to the flexible-material version)

*Scissors

*Hot glue gun and glue sticks (or a good glue, maybe a fabric glue)

*Puff Paint (optional)

*Googly Eyes (optional)

I already had the felt, puff paint, and googly eyes as well as a hot glue gun and glue sticks so this project only cost me the price of the shoes.

From left of screen: My little guy "helping" me pic colors of felt from our scraps. He had a lot of fun spreading them around the floor and being silly.

Next is a picture of the shoes before they were defaced and monster-ized!

Next, I show the first part I did which was cutting a circle of felt and hot gluing the googly eye to the felt then gluing the felt to the shoe. In hindsight, I wish I would have put the eye a little lower but alas that is DIY for ya . . . never perfect and always room for improvement for next time!

The last two pictures are of my adding the teeth to the border of the canvas and rubber. Finally, I added some little teal ears and decided to add a red line round the teeth and make a smile to better outline the mouth area.

And as my toddler would say "tah-dah!"

My little monster loves his new monster shoes! He may not be getting ready to back back-to-school but this would be a great pair of special shoes for any little ones starting school soon!

I am starting to think of so many possibilities for future shoe projects. Please let me know if you have any great ideas, try this project or need help! I would love to see pictures and feature them if you do this project!

Thanks as always for reading!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page